Skip to content

Mission Boards: a novelty in Horizon Europe

Amongst novelties foreseen in Horizon Europe, the next framework-programme for research and innovation of the European Union: the creation of specific Missions to tackle great societal challenges. The European Commission launched a call for expression of interest to recruit experts for the first “Mission Boards”.

Missions of research and innovation

Horizon Europe foresees the creation of R&I Missions under Pilar II (Global Challenges and Industrial Competitiveness). Missions aim at responding to great contemporary challenges that directly concern European citizens with a novel approach.

Among other things, Missions will be in charge of defining a portfolio of projects and calls for proposals to tackle the related challenge in a cross-cutting and strategic way. They will arise from collaboration between the European Union (Commission, Parliament, Member States…), stakeholders – including the civil society – and citizens.

It should be mentioned that Future and Emerging Technologies (FET) flagships have similar characteristics as Missions. Therefore, the FET flagships foreseen under Horizon Europe will be implemented with the same modalities.

The composition of Missions Boards

For co-designing and steering this novel approach, Mission Boards will be established ad hoc. Each committee, for each mission, will be composed of 15 high-level independent experts to provide a strategic expertise.

The selected members will come from complementary and diverse sectors (researchers, industrials, end-users, publics decision makers…). As well as cross-cutting areas – including Social Sciences and Humanities – for a global approach.

The role of Mission Board members will be extremely important. In particular, they will advise the European Commission on the content of Work Programmes and calls for proposals, in order to respond better to the specific challenges of each mission.

The European Commission is looking for experts!

The European Commission has launched a call for expression of interest for members of the first five Mission Boards, which 1st phase will be implemented in the 2nd semester of 2019. Applications are individual and interested experts can apply to several Mission Boards.

The call targets the 5 following Missions:

  • Adaptation to Climate Change, including Societal Transformation,
  • Cancer,
  • Healthy Oceans, Seas, Coastal and Inland Waters
  • Climate-neutral and Smart Cities
  • Soil Health and Food

During this 1st phase, the selected experts will help identify, specify and design specific tasks to implement their Mission, including indicators and objectives. The call was opened opened until 16 June 2019. The Commission will announce the selected experts, and hence, the full composition of the mission boards by the end of July 2019. (Update: the list of selected experts, as announced on 30 July 2019).

Update: The presidents of the 5 Mission Boards

Early July, the European Commission announced the outstanding experts who will chair each mission board:

  • Adaptation to Climate Change: Connie Hedegaard (Denmark), former European Commissioner for Climate Action,
  • Cancer: Harald zur Hausen (Germany), Nobel Prize Laureate in Physiology or Medicine in 2008,
  • Healthy Oceans, Seas, Coastal and Inland Waters: Pascal Lamy (France), former Trade Commissioner and Director-General of the WTO,
  • Climate-neutral and Smart Cities: Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz (Poland), former Mayor of Warsaw,
  • Soil Health and Food: Cees Veerman (Netherlands), former Dutch Agriculture Minister.

S'ABONNER À LA NEWSLETTER

Skip to content

Les Mission Boards : une nouveauté d’Horizon Europe

Parmi les nouveautés prévues dans Horizon Europe, futur programme-cadre de recherche et d’innovation de l’Union européenne : la mise en place de Missions spécifiques pour répondre aux grands défis de société. La Commission a lancé un appel à candidature pour recruter les experts qui composeront les premiers “Mission Boards”.

Les Missions de recherche et d’innovation

Horizon Europe prévoit la création de missions de recherche et d’innovation sous le pilier 2 (Problématiques mondiales et compétitivité industrielle). Les Missions répondent à de grands défis contemporains qui touchent directement les citoyens européens.

Les Missions auront notamment pour objectif de définir un portefeuille de projets et d’appels à propositions pour répondre au défi concerné de façon stratégique et transversale. Elles seront le fruit d’une collaboration entre l’Union européenne (Commission, Parlement, États membres…), différentes parties prenantes (dont la société civile) et les citoyens.

À noter : les initiatives phares dans le domaine des “Technologies futures et émergentes” (FET Flagships) ont des caractéristiques similaires à celle d’une mission. De ce fait, les futurs FET Flagships prévus dans Horizon Europe seront mis en œuvre avec les mêmes modalités.

La composition des Mission Boards

La conception et le pilotage de cette nouvelle approche seront à la charge de comités de mission (ou Mission Boards) créés ad hoc. Chaque comité, correspondant à chacune des Missions, sera composé de 15 experts indépendants de haut niveau, susceptibles d’apporter une expertise stratégique.

Leurs membres seront issus de secteurs complémentaires et variés (chercheurs, industriels, utilisateurs finaux, décideurs publics…). Et de domaines transversaux, dont les sciences humaines et sociales, pour permettre une approche intégrale.

Le rôle des membres de Mission Boards sera extrêmement important. Notamment, ils conseilleront la Commission européenne sur le contenu des programmes de travail et les appels à propositions pour répondre au mieux aux défis spécifiques de chaque mission.

La Commission européenne recherche les experts !

La Commission européenne a ouvert un appel à candidatures d’experts pour les premiers comités de mission, dont la 1re phase sera mise en œuvre au 2e semestre 2019. Les candidatures sont individuelles. Les experts intéressés peuvent postuler à plusieurs Mission Boards.

L’appel concerne 5 Missions identifiées :

  • Adaptation au changement climatique, dont les transformations de la société ;
  • Cancer ;
  • Santé des océans, des mers et des eaux côtières et intérieures ;
  • Villes intelligentes et neutralité climatique ;
  • Santé des sols et alimentation.

Durant cette première phase, les experts sélectionnés devront identifier et concevoir les tâches spécifiques à mettre en œuvre dans le cadre de leur Mission, dont les indicateurs et objectifs. L’appel s’est clos le 16 juin 2019. La Commission annoncera la composition complète des Mission Boards fin juillet 2019. (Update : la liste des experts sélectionnés au 30 juillet 2019)

Update! Les présidents des Mission Boards

Début juillet, la Commission européenne a annoncé les présidents de chaque Mission. Il s’agit de :

  • Adaptation au changement climatique : Connie Hedegaard (Danemark), ancienne commissaire européenne pour l’action climatique ;
  • Cancer : Harald zur Hausen (Allemagne), Prix Nobel de physiologie ou médecine en 2008 ;
  • Santé des océans : Pascal Lamy (France), ancien Commissaire européen pour le Commerce et directeur général de l’OMC ;
  • Villes intelligentes et neutralité climatique : Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz (Pologne), ancienne maire de Varsovie ;
  • Santé des sols et alimentation : Cees Veerman (Pays-Bas), ancien ministre néerlandais de l’agriculture.

S'ABONNER À LA NEWSLETTER